Research Guides: Information Cycle: Day of Event (First 24 hours)

First 24 hours

Information published in the first 24 hours is usually breaking news. Common sources include: social media, internet news sources, and some television news sources. People reporting are typically journalists, local officials, witnesses to the event, and so on.

The information published is kept to the basics: the Who, What, Where, When, and How. However, due to the quickness and often chaotic nature of the reporting, facts may not be completely accurate or verified.

How/Where to Search

Popular Online News Websites:

cnn.com
nytimes.com
bbc.com
You can check other well known news sites, as well as with local city/regional news which might have more same day reporting.

One way to find same-day coverage of past events: CNN Transcripts

To find same day coverage of a past event through the library, you can limit the search in one of our databases to just that day (usually under advanced search).

Gale OneFile: News is a really good database to search. Under the advanced search, you can easily limit to a single day of news articles (see example below for a search of the Notre Dame Fire that occurred April 15, 2019).

Library Databases

Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Contains over 12,000 searchable titles that span a wide array of source types, from newspapers to blogs to newswires to videos and more, providing local, national and international information from trusted sources.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for more than 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. Updated daily.