Faculty Guide: Streaming Videos

How do I find videos in this collection?

You can find Kanopy videos at https://bhc.kanopy.com/. 

 

How do I access videos in this collection?

Click on the option to "Log in to BHC" and  enter your myBlackHawk username and password. The Black Hawk College Library provides access to these collections to current students and employees. 

 

 

How do I share the videos in this collection?

When viewing the video, you can click on Share to copy the permalink for BHC users.

Click on More to access the citation tool. 

 

What are the accessibility features of this collection?

Kanopy provides closed-captioning and transcripts for the videos in these collections.

 

Are these videos copyrighted?

Videos in this collection are protected by United States copyright law [Title 17, U.S. Code] and fair use policies.  These resources are provided for use in an educational context for classroom, study, or personal use for Black Hawk College students and employees. 

 

Can faculty request new films to add to this collection?

Yes, faculty can request new films for this collection. The library will purchase a 12-month license for films to be used for course curriculum. To request a film, follow these steps:

1. Go to https://bhc.kanopy.com/. 
2. Use the search feature to locate the film. 
3. Films already licensed by the library will appear at the top of the search results page. Films that are available to be licensed will appear below.
4. Click on the film to open the detailed record. 
5. Complete the Request Access form including your name, course, and instructor role. (See example below.)
6. A librarian will contact you when your request is approved and the film ready to view. 

Please allow for at least 2 business days for the film to be accessible to faculty and students.