Research Guides: Israel-Palestine Conflict: Article Databases

Researching This Topic

In approaching the complex and multifaceted topic of the Israel-Palestine conflict, it's crucial to have a well-rounded understanding that encompasses both the historical context and current issues. To facilitate effective and focused research, we have organized this section into two primary categories of databases: 'Current Issues' and 'Historical.'

Current Issues Databases: This section is dedicated to databases that provide access to materials focusing on recent developments, current perspectives, and ongoing debates surrounding the Israel-Palestine conflict. These resources are ideal for students looking to understand the present-day dynamics, including the latest political movements, social implications, and international responses.
Historical Databases: Understanding the historical context is indispensable for any comprehensive study of the Israel-Palestine conflict. This category includes databases that offer historical documents, archival material, and scholarly analysis tracing the origins and evolution of the conflict. These resources are particularly valuable for exploring the root causes, major events, and significant turning points that have shaped the trajectory of the conflict over the years.

Each category is curated to help you navigate the wealth of information available and to assist in identifying the most relevant and authoritative sources for your research needs.

Keywords and Search Terms

Below are some useful keywords/search terms to get you started on the research process!

Israel-Palestine Conflict: A general term covering the entire scope of the conflict.
Two-State Solution: Refers to the proposed solution of Israel and Palestine existing as two separate states.
Gaza Strip: A key region in the conflict, often in the news for clashes and political developments.
West Bank: Another crucial region, significant for settlements and territorial disputes.
Oslo Accords: A major peace agreement that has shaped much of the recent peace process.
Zionism: An essential ideological term related to the formation of Israel.
Intifada (First, Second): These are pivotal uprisings in Palestinian territories against Israeli occupation.
Settlements: Refers to Israeli communities built on territories claimed by Palestinians.
Hamas: A major Palestinian political and military organization.
Human Rights Violations: This term is crucial for understanding the humanitarian impact of the conflict.

Using Boolean Operators in Searches

AND: This operator narrows your search by combining terms. It ensures that all search results contain all the terms you've specified. For example, "Hamas AND Fatah" will return articles that mention both groups.
OR: This operator broadens your search by including results that contain either of the terms. It's useful for searching for synonyms or related concepts. For instance, "Two-State Solution OR One-State Solution" will give results that discuss either concept.
NOT: This operator excludes certain terms from your search. It helps to focus the search by removing topics that are not of interest. For example, "Israeli-Palestinian Peace Process NOT Oslo Accords" will return articles on the peace process that don't specifically discuss the Oslo Accords.

Combine these Boolean operators (AND, OR, and NOT) to refine their searches effectively. For instance, they could use "Intifada AND Human Rights Violations NOT Gaza" to find information on human rights violations during the Intifadas, excluding those specific to the Gaza Strip.

Remember, using these operators can significantly impact the quality and relevance of the information retrieved, making the research process more efficient and targeted.

Current Issues Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database containing academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos on a wide range of academic subjects. It has 10,021 active full-text journals and magazines, including a large collection of peer reviewed journals and full-text back files for some titles.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more, Global Issues is updated daily and offers 250 country pages and more than 400 issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues, more than 6,000 viewpoint commentaries provide background and guidance on significant topics like Food Security, Genocide, Human Rights, Extreme Weather, and more. Global Issues is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints for users with access to both resources.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for information on today’s hottest social issues from Greenhaven Press and other Thomson Gale imprints. Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites.
Gale OneFile: News This link opens in a new window
This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Gale OneFile: News provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Explores more than 800 hot topics in politics, business, education, science and popular culture, including pro and con statements, primary source documents and statistics.
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers: The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. With print and online editions, the titles offer researchers historic and current coverage of local, regional, and global events with journalistic balance and perspective.

Historical Databases

Gale In Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: World History reaches back to the ancient world—and forward to today's headlines—to deliver a chronicle of the people, cultures, events, and societies that have formed the history of the human race. A range of topics such as Aztecs, Industrial Revolution, Silk Road, the Buddha, Space Race, and more provide a wide perspective across the globe. Rare primary sources, reliable reference, and multimedia content are aligned to curriculum and put this vast subject into context for students.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Discover a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language. Updated daily, this library resource supports a broad range of topics from theological approaches to social issues.
Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: World History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a full-text electronic archive of the complete back issues of core scholarly journals covering a wide variety of disciplines, including economics, history, political science and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.

Israel-Palestine Conflict

How Do I Log In?

Ask a Librarian

Researching This Topic

Keywords and Search Terms

Current Issues Article Databases

Historical Databases