The Black Hawk College Library catalog is your go-to source for searching for books, eBooks, and articles from across our entire collection of databases. It also allows you to search and request books from the I-Share consortium, which includes 90 academic libraries in Illinois.
Contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. There are more than 135,000 eBooks in this collection, including titles from leading university presses. Watch tutorial.
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
A collection of popular fiction and nonfiction ebooks that can be checked out and downloaded to your device. The check out for 3 weeks. Download the Libby app or access on a PC. Watch tutorial.
Contains nearly 4000 multidisciplinary eBook titles across various academic subjects.
These are just some of the books available through the BHC Library. There are many more in our catalog and even more that we can request from other libraries in the state.
A Perilous Path: Talking Race, Inequality, and the Law by 
The Death Penalty: a Reference Handbook by 
Social Work, Criminal Justice, and the Death Penalty by 
Race and the Death Penalty: the legacy of McCleskey v. Kemp by 
Solitary: The Inside Story of Supermax Isolation and How We Can Abolish It by 
The School-To-Prison Pipeline: a comprehensive assessment by 
The New Jim Crow: Mass incarceration in the age of colorblindness by 
Building the Prison State: race and the politics of mass incarceration by 
Understanding Mass Incarceration: A People's Guide to the Key Civil Rights Struggle of Our Time by 
The Insidious Momentum of American Mass Incarceration by 
Wrongful Convictions of Women: when innocence isn't enough by 
Wrongful Conviction: from prevention to the reversal of injustice by 
Three False Convictions, Many Lessons: the psychopathology of unjust prosecutions by 
Exoneree Diaries: the fight for innocence, independence and identity by 
The Cadaver King and the Country Dentist: a true story of injustice in the American South by 
Ghost of the Innocent Man : a true story of trial and redemption by 
Life after Death Row: exonerees' search for community and identity by 
Racial Disparities in Capital Sentencing: prejudice and discrimination in the jury room by 
Justice for Kids: Keeping Kids Out of the Juvenile Justice System by 
The War on Kids: how American juvenile justice lost its way by 
Bias in the Law: A definitive look at racial prejudice in the U.S. criminal justice system by 
Mad or Bad? race, class, gender, and mental disorder in the criminal justice system by 
From the War on Poverty to the War on Crime: the making of mass incarceration in America by 
Not a Crime to Be Poor: the criminalization of poverty in America by 
American Injustice: Inside Stories From the Underbelly of the Criminal Justice System by 
Willful Defiance: the movement to dismantle the school-to-prison pipeline by 
Prisons Make Us Safer: And 20 Other Myths about Mass Incarceration by 
