Librarians are experts in finding and evaluating resources, including OER. We are here to assist you with copyright and licensing questions as well.
Contact us a library@bhc.edu with the following information and the librarians will compile a bibliography of OER resources you could consider for adoption:
Faculty can find OER and open textbooks from a variety of resources. The list below is not comprehensive, but can be used as a good starting point.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) Metasearch engine searches across many OER repositories. Use the limiters to focus results.
OASIS Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool created by SUNY Geneseo that searches several sources.
OER Commons Free, adaptable, openly licensed textbooks and supplemental resources.
BCcampus A repository of open textbooks peer reviewed and adapted by faculty in British Columbia, Canada.
Galileo Open Learning Materials University System of Georgia open textbook publishing initiative repository.
LibreTexts An open textbook organization initiated at the University of California, Davis, that contains OER in twelve widely used college-level disciplines.
Milne Open Textbooks Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains this catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
MIT Open Courseware Online Textbooks MIT’s library of online textbooks has OER for aeronautics, civil engineering and material science, among many other disciplines.
OpenStax College Open textbook publisher of high-quality print and mobile platform texts for general education courses.
Open Textbook Library High quality open textbooks with faculty peer reviews.
Saylor Foundation Titles published through Saylor Academy’s Open Textbook Challenge and a collection of titles re-published by Saylor Academy
Canvas Commons Commons is a learning object repository that enables educators to find, import, and share resources. A digital library full of educational content, Commons allows Canvas users to share learning resources with other users as well as import learning resources into a Canvas course. Contact the BHC Teaching & Learning Center for assistance.
Khan Academy Lessons and instructional videos
MERLOT A repository of free and open online teaching materials with peer reviews.
NSDL National Science Digital Library “Serving science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education”
Project MUSE Open Access In addition to the subscription content on Project MUSE available to the Kirkwood Community, Project MUSE also contains an open access collection of academic books and journals freely available to any user for access or download.
Project Gutenberg Books in the public domain (most of these are books old enough that their copyright has expired).
Creative Commons: Media Search Media search (includes images, music, video, websites). All results are open licensed with Creative Commons licenses.
Unsplash "Photos for everyone". Instead of having a Creative Commons license, usage of all photos is governed by the site license, which states photos may be used, for free, without permission. See license: https://unsplash.com/license
Pixabay Free stock photos, CC0 (Creative Commons Zero license, zero rights reserved)
Pexels Database of free stock photos. CC0 (Creative Commons Zero license, zero rights reserved)
Internet Archive Free Movies, Music, Books & Wayback Machine.
HippoCampus Materials are free but may not be copied or transformed.
PBS Video PBS has free streaming video of many of their programs. (Free but not open.)
Prendismo Collection "The Prendismo Collection offers access to the world’s premiere collection of digital video content on business, leadership and entrepreneurship."
List adapted with permission from "Search for Open Textbooks & Other OER" from Kirkwood Community College Library.
