The most frequently-used databases
A multidisciplinary database containing academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos on a wide range of academic subjects. It has 10,021 active full-text journals and magazines, including a large collection of peer reviewed journals and full-text back files for some titles. Watch tutorial.
The Black Hawk College Library catalog is your go-to source for searching for books, eBooks, and articles from across our entire collection of databases. It also allows you to search and request books from the I-Share consortium, which includes 90 academic libraries in Illinois.
Academic OneFile is an interdisciplinary research database featuring full-text articles from leading academic journals, magazines, books, news sources, and more. With extensive coverage of science, technology, the arts, literature, economics, and other subjects, Academic OneFile is a great source for academic, peer-reviewed articles. Watch tutorial.
*Students will need to create an account with their BHC email to login*
NoodleTools is an online research platform to help you create, format, annotate, and retrieve citations. No matter what type of material you are trying to cite, whether it’s an article from a database, an article from a print magazine, a novel, or even possibly a work of art, NoodleTools will help you cite it using APA, MLA, or Chicago style.
The following databases were recently added to our collection.
Containing bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, AGRICOLA provides millions of citations relating to the field of agriculture. Citations are comprised of journal articles, book chapters, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials and technical reports to support agricultural research. Watch tutorial.
Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies. Watch tutorial.
Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, Auto Repair Source provides library users with the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date “do-it-yourself” service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported cars, SUVs, vans and light trucks. Watch tutorial.
Biography Reference Source provides thousands of unique and reliable full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography and Biography Today. In addition to keyword search, users can locate biographies by subject occupation, activity, nationality, gender, birthplace and more.
Provides full text for nearly 1,100 scholarly business journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed business publications. This database is updated on a daily basis and offers full text dating back to 1985. Watch tutorial.
This bibliographic database is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
Provides full text for over 1200 of the nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database, many of which contain no embargo and include full-text coverage dating back to 1981. Watch tutorial.
Book Collection: Nonfiction is a cross-curricular database providing abstracts and searchable full text for thousands of popular nonfiction books. It covers core subject areas as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
This bibliographic database provides the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development and social welfare.
With bibliographic records covering family dynamics topics, Family Studies Abstracts is an excellent source for family studies researchers. Scholars can access unique content and highly regarded works.
How does a hybrid car engine work compared to a gas engine? How do construction blueprints differ from electrical blueprints? The hundreds of titles in this collection will help prepare students interested in vocational trades, including construction, cosmetology, communication, agriculture, applied engineering, and more.
Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, History Reference Source is a research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents. Watch tutorial.
Hobbies & Crafts Source is a DIY database of leading full-text hobby and craft magazines, hobby profiles, recipes and videos to inspire creativity and nurture extra-curricular interests. Watch tutorial.
Humanities Source Ultimate presents a rich collection of 1,787 active full-text humanities journals, surpassing any other database of its kind in terms of peer-reviewed content.
LearningExpress Library is an easy-to-use online test prep resource that helps people improve their core academic skills, earn a high school equivalency, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.
The Left Index is a bibliographic database covering the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and cultural scholarship inside and outside academia. It includes hundreds of thousands of citations and abstracts and covers historically significant left publications.
LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers and videos. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Literary Reference Source is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems. Watch tutorial.
Contains full text for nearly 1,700 popular magazines covering reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Also includes full text for reference books and primary source documents, as well as an image collection of photos, maps and flags. Watch tutorial.
MEDLINE Ultimate is the largest full-text companion to the MEDLINE index, providing medical professionals and researchers unparalleled access to 2,500 active full-text journals, including numerous top biomedical publications
Mometrix eLibrary is a comprehensive test preparation tool, offering study materials for over 1,500 different exams. Exam support for students, teachers, and professionals across a broad range of industries.
Provides selected full text for more than 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. Updated daily. Watch tutorial.
*Students will need to create an account with their BHC email to login*
NoodleTools is an online research platform to help you create, format, annotate, and retrieve citations. No matter what type of material you are trying to cite, whether it’s an article from a database, an article from a print magazine, a novel, or even possibly a work of art, NoodleTools will help you cite it using APA, MLA, or Chicago style.
NoveList K-8 is a database of book recommendations for all library workers who do readers' advisory. Our expertise and passion for books and reading means you'll always be able to provide the best help to the youngest readers in your community.
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, Points of View Reference Source provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is an essential full-text database for psychologists, counselors, researchers and students. It provides hundreds of full-text psychology journals, including many indexed in APA PsycInfo. It offers particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and counseling.
Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
Small Business Source offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to understand and address a wide variety of small business topics. The database includes business videos, case studies, help and advice, a start-up kit and tips for writing business plans. Watch tutorial.
This reference database provides detailed, user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines, from motorcycles and ATVs to generators and outdoor power equipment. Watch tutorial.
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.
Urban Studies Abstracts is a bibliographic research database essential to the study of cities and regions. It covers subjects of key relevance to the discipline.
This bibliographic database covers the essential topics related to the study of violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse and others.
Women’s Studies International is a bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. Providing indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, it is a valuable resource for many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations and humanities.
